Visibility and Completion Options in Content Modules

Modules and topics have the ability to be hidden or made visible. Additionally, Faculty can adjust how users track their completion of modules and topics in D2L.

Adjust Visibility of Modules and Sub-Modules

  1. From Content, click the name of the module you want to hide or make visible.
  2. Click the Eye icon in the upper right side of the screen.
    Shows visibility icon for a content module.
  3. A "switch" will appear showing a green checkmark.
    Identifies Visibility checkmarkClick the switch, and the checkmark will disappear. You will also see the label "Hidden" and the eye will have a slash through it.Indicates hidden indicators
  4. Hidden modules will also be indicated  in the Table of Contents.
    Shows hidden status in Table of Contents

Adjust Visibility of Content Topics

  1. Click into the module.
  2. Click the arrow beside the content topic you want to hide/make visible.
  3. Select Hide from Users or Make Visible to Users.
    Shows content topic menu.
  4. The Eye icon will appear to the right of the content topic, indicating the topic's visibility. You can click this icon to turn the visibility on and off.
    Shows content topic visibility.

Adjust Completion Tracking of Content Topics

  1. From Content, click the settings icon on the upper right side of the screen.
    Shows content settings icon.
  2. Scroll down to Completion Tracking. Click the dropdown menu to make a selection.
    • Required: Automatic - This is the default setting for course content. This setting automatically marks visited content complete when students click on the links inside of a module. A progress bar will appear at the top of each module, and a checkmark will appear beside each content item that has been viewed.
      Shows progress bar and completion status.
    • Required: Manual - This setting also shows a progress bar, but allows students to check a box when they have visited content.
      Shows manual completion tracking.
    • Not Required - This setting does not record completion for students.
  3. Click Save.