Merge Course Rosters

The Merge Course Rosters form allows you to combine multiple section rosters into one D2L course.

To Merge Rosters (Classlists)

  1. Sign in to your D2L course and click the VTAC Support link in the navbar.
  2. In the Self-Service column under the Course Design heading, click Merge Course Rosters to open the form.Indicates link to Merge Course Sections form
  3. In the new window that opens, the first panel will show all your courses; the course and term you are in are highlighted in blue.
    Image shows the chosen primary course.
  4. The second panel will show you all the secondary courses that are available to merge with that primary course. Click all sections that you want to be combined.

    NOTE: This process is difficult to reverse so make sure you are choosing the correct sections. If unsure contact LSC-Online staff through VTAC.
    Shows the courses that can be secondary.
    • If you do not see your courses listed in the secondary course panel, it is possible that these courses are already active, or they are considered to be Non-Matching sections. 
    • Active courses will appear on the Active tab at the bottom of the form. Select the courses you want to inactivate and click the Inactivate Courses button.
      Shows the Active course tab on the Merge Course Roster tool..
    • Non-Matching sections will appear on the Non-Matching tab. Select the courses you would like to merge, and click the Report Issue button. This will generate a support ticket that will be resolved by an Instructional Technologist.
      Shows the Non-Matching tab in the Merge Course Roster tool.
  5. The third panel shows you a summary of what you have chosen - which secondary courses will be merged into the primary course.
    • When the merge is performed, the secondary courses are deleted, and any content and student data in them is lost.
    • If you have any doubts, stop now and look at the email and tools of the secondary course(s).
  6. Click the Merge Rosters button at the bottom right of the screen to merge your rosters.
    Merge Rosters button on the form
    Processing should only take a few moments but wait until you see an alert message that says the process is complete.
  7. Close the alert.